Arriba! Mexico Crowned 2011 Caribbean World Series Champions

February 8, 2011 by silvab 

The wait is over for the Yaquis de Obregon as Mexico defeated Venezuela (Caribes de Anzoategui) 3-2 to become the 2011 Caribbean World Series champions at Isidoro Garcia Stadium on Monday.

Mexico finished with a 4-2 record to mark the country’s first Caribbean World Series title since 2005.

Jorge Vazquez (Yankees) smacked a two out two run homer on a deep fly ball to center field off Venezuela starter Seth Etherton in the bottom of the sixth inning to capture Mexico its sixth Caribbean World Series title. It was the second homerun of the Series for Vazquez, earning him the Most Valuable Player award.

The Yaquis de Obregon had to wait for the Dominican Republic to defeat Puerto Rico (3-0) to secure the championship.

Mexico starter Alberto Castillo allowed two runs on five hits over four innings and reliever Adrian Ramirez pitched one and two-thirds innings for the win. The rest of the bullpen pitched two and a third scoreless innings to secure the win.

Venezuela got on board in the fourth inning after Eliezar Alfonzo blasted a two run homer on a fly ball to left field. Etherton tossed six innings allowing three runs on five hits and five strikeouts in the loss.

Dominican Republic will play host to the 2012 Caribbean World Series in a city to be determined.


Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!