Puerto Rico Defeats Mexico, Quadruple Tie in the Series

February 4, 2011 by silvab · Leave a Comment 

Exclusive for ebeisbol.com

Puerto Rico (Criollos de Caguas) defeated Mexico (Yaquis de Obregon) 7-3 to earn their first win of the 2011 Caribbean World Series held at the Isidoro Garcia Stadium in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico. The second day of this Caribbean classic resulted in a four way tie in the standings between Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Venzuela.

Puerto Rico jumped to an early lead scoring five runs on Mexico’s three errors in the first inning. Luis Figueroa (Giants) doubles at the next at bat on a line drive to left fielder Doug Clark (A’s), driving in the first run of the game by Alex Cora (Nationals), who reached base on a single to centerfield. Pedro Valdes (Rangers) singled on a fly ball to right fielder Karim Garcia (Orioles) scoring in Figueroa and Hiram Bochachica (Padres).

Marc Carrillo came in to relieve Mexico starter Rolando Valdez after giving up a total of five runs (2 earned) on five hits in the first inning. Mexico was led by Justin Christian (Yankees) who went 3-for-5 with two runs scored.

Juan Padilla (Mets) pitched four shutout innings in relief and earned the win for Puerto Rico.